Bryn Mawr Fencers with Foils and Masks, 1927.
Bryn Mawr College Library Special Collections.
Courtesy VintageSevenSisters on Tumblr.

Bryn Mawr College is one of the original Seven Sisters colleges, selective colleges created to provide women with the same caliber of education found at the then men-only Ivy League colleges. All of the Seven Sisters were founded between 1837 and 1889. Bryn Mawr College, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Barnard College, and Wellesley College are still women’s colleges while Radcliffe College and Vassar College now admit co-ed undergraduate. Known as Mawrters, Bryn Mawr still has a women’s fencing team. As is almost always the case in collegiate programs today, they practice modern sport fencing. Learn more about Bryn Mawr College here, or about one of their most influential Alumnae here.

Bryn Mawr Fencers, 1927

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s